All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Second Semester Learnings

leave a comment »


By Tuesday evening of next week, I will have finished my second semester of graduate school in Theological Studies. I get a quick-but-needed month and a half break before I take a summer course on Faith and Revelation. A summation of my humble learnings is now in order.

The two courses, if anyone cares to recall, were Synoptics and Incarnate Word (Christology). I’ll start with Synoptics:

  • As much as I thought I read the Gospels, or heard them, I never really read them.
  • Historical-critical scholarship has its merits. . . and it’s limits. Scripture must be read with the whole context in mind, not just based on pure history and also not with a solely figurative interpretation.
  • Mark is my favorite Synoptic Gospel for his realism in portraying the faults of the disciples, but Luke holds a special place in my heart for his joy (and his inclusion of women).
  • I have GOT to re-read the book of Daniel and the books of Samuel.
  • The world will never know in its finite time what Jesus truly said; this is another article of faith.
  • The first Jewish-Christians were braver than I will probably ever get the chance to be.
  • These martyrs were interiorily ecstatic to go to their death in the honor of Christ. A death sentence was a humbling and joyous thing, even though they probably greatly feared by the limits of their flesh.
  • Demonic possession is a real thing; not a psychological illness. The Evil One is pathetically limited in his false power.
  • Peter was a great leader because of his faults and his ability to accept forgiveness and move on.
  • Everything in the Old Testament alludes to the New. And much in the New Testament recollects the Old. Considering the various books were written centuries apart, the textual evidence of Christ as Son of God and Messiah is astounding.
  • Even books that are not in the Apocrypha still support the gospels. Much of “Catholic Tradition” comes from these exclusive books. We didn’t “just make stuff up.”
  • The more I read of Jesus, the more I doubt. And the more I doubt, the more I believe.

As for Incarnate Word/Christology:

  • The question of who Jesus Christ was is fundamental in faith. If a Christian can’t answer this question for themselves, I’d question their idea of Christianity.
  • Not that I didn’t already learn this once, but I am reminded: God is the cause of all things. Everything else is contingent upon God. If the world never existed, God would still exist and remain the same.
  • I am not sure I will ever be able to comprehend the true depth of meaning in redemptive salvation.
  • I am baffled by Christ’s effable and ineffable knowledge. The concept warps my mind a bit. Is it possible that he knew he would die, but not how—only putting his trust in the Father?  Very possible. . .
  • Christology isn’t my best subject. It’s too philosophical, despite my philosophical background. I don’t want to reason about who Christ was or wasn’t. I want to believe who he was. However, I appreciate the subject because it was, after all, a doctrinal course of the Trinity (Third Person) that began my conversion. This was only on the Second Person. . .
  • I can answer rationally (or dispute) who Christ was when I am required to defend my faith.
  • I am not a fan of the writing style of Bernard Lonergan, but I still think it was special to learn under the teachings of a Lonergan expert.

I miss writing on my blog project. I hope in my break to write again, especially since I began reading more by Pope Benedict XVI.

Written by Written Straw

May 4, 2012 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

