All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Let the conversion commence.

leave a comment »


I don’t have a lot to add this week, as I’m still trying to discern a research paper topic for my Incarnate Word class which is really a Christology class in disguise. Ideas are welcomed. I did want to share a few reflections. 

Today, I’m enjoying a rather decadent day of Girl Scout cookies, pizza and Mexican food before Lent begins. I’m trying to get all my unhealthy cravings in before I sternly diet and fast for the next seven or so weeks. I’m ready. If I never see another taco, it’ll be too soon.

It feels like Spring here in Houston which is nice since “Lent” means “Spring.” The Redbuds are budding their violet flowers and it’s stunning against the bright green of new leaves on other trees. It feels like a spring in my soul.

This Lent, I plan to focus on praying for religious tolerance amid persecution, both in the world and, in particularly, in the United States. And it’s not just the recent battle for religious liberties that is going on in the US government, but it’s in the subtleties of everyday life, like laughing at jokes at the expense of the faithful (be they Catholic, Jewish, or whatever).

[As an aside, why is the whole HHS contraception mandate a “Catholic” issue anyway?  Jews and Islams and other Christian denominations don’t support contraception either. If you took the practicing people of these faiths, what are you left with? A small percentage of Secularists who believe they are the majority? Really, Amy Poehler? Really?! I didn’t laugh one bit at SNL’s commentary on the issue. As a female, I guess I don’t have a say either. They assume that all women are for contraception. I suppose it was the US Conference of Catholic Bishops who actually stood up, though, to fight the mandate. And they continue. Thankfully, affected Catholic organizations like Ave Maria University and Catholic Charities have already filed the lawsuits, even after the alleged compromise.]

It really stinks to have to choose between faith and citizenship. Sort of reminds me of the dark ages. And, here, I thought the ones pushing the mandate were accusing Catholics of being old school.

Enough of my soapbox for the moment. Focusing again on Lent. [Praying, praying, praying. . . ]

I pray also that I could share what I see/feel/understand.

“To you has been given the mystery of the kingdom of God, but those who are outside get everything in parables, so that while seeing, they may see and not perceive, and while hearing, they may hear and not understand, otherwise they might they return and be forgiven.” (Mark 4:11-12)

Other individual causes I’ll be praying for (if you want to add to my list, comment below and I will hold them in my heart for the season. . . or longer):

  • The repose of the soul of my father.
  • The healing of I—
  • My sister, brothers, nephews and nieces
  • My aunt C—
  • The healing of AJI (a seminarian friend)
  • All seminarians and students of theology
  • The religious
  • The unemployed
  • Death row inmates and the families of victims of their crimes (including their own)
  • The unjustly imprisoned
  • Peace officers

And for a final thought:  I wrote down my father’s name today, as I was making arrangements for his grave marker. I smiled when I wrote it. I hadn’t seen it in so long.

Pax Christi.

Written by Written Straw

February 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

