All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

You look so happy these days

leave a comment »


It’s been just shy of a year since I was here in Wisconsin helping my sister and brother-in-law out after the birth of my niece. How things change and how they stay the same!

My sister seems so much more relaxed these days and doesn’t freak out. Even though my niece is sick at the moment, she handles everything with greater calm and demeanor than one year ago. She even has that “mom” looking going for her: diaper bag strapped over her should constantly, with little toys, gadgets and diaper disposal bags of all colors clipped and hanging from the bag.

Even though I was able to stop by their place for a few days because business brought me close, I still can’t help but remember their home as my retreat place when the ex and I split. I still don’t believe my sister has any idea how grateful I am for that week and how she and her husband saved me by sheltering me. They have no idea how I look to their own marriage as a signature of marriage. And ever since the birth of their daughter, they seem so much more mature and close as a couple now than before.

The other day, I noted that my ex had updated his status on Facebook and it read, “Today is a great day to be alive.” One of his friends commented, “You look so happy these days!” And that made me smile so big and I felt so genuinely happy for him in that moment.

As I often pray for his happiness, it seems that he has found a part of it. I have said before that I believe that real love is what helped us to separate. God only knew what was best for both of us and now, it seems, in his infinite wisdom, by separation, we are both so happy.  What more closure could I have asked for?

Of course, there will still be little trials to overcome, still healing from past mistakes, but God heals all hurt through time and he heals the heart through forgiveness.

Now, being here, where I retreated to when it all began, I can give thanksgiving.

Written by Written Straw

May 24, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Posted in Catholic, Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

