All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Gaude et laetare

leave a comment »


Life’s been hectic, to say the least. I haven’t completely settled and, being back home, I’m committed to seeing people in person more so than checking up on the Internet. 

Since I’ve been away, Easter has passed. It was glorious, as always! I managed to get to confession just before the start of Holy Week. I had to confessed to the Archbishop, as he was part of a penance service. The idea that the Archbishop was hearing confessions greatly moved me. It’s reaffirming to know that a priest doesn’t abandon his calling, no matter how high he ascends in the order of the Church.

Needless to say, though, it was a very hard week to resist temptation, at home, at work, and in restaurants where everyone seemed to be offering some sweet delight. But I— was a great sport about it on the home front and completely understood my need to remain “holy”. He kept me accountable, too, further strengthening my resolve and love. I did a lot of praying to overcome the rest.

I also had a great time making Easter baskets to spoil I— and E— and I thoroughly delighted in the looks on their faces when they saw that the Easter bunny came. I completely relished my Cadbury Creme Eggs, the first of my sweets in 6 weeks, even though a few mysteriously disappeared over the last couple of weeks. Now, sadly, it’s diet time again.

I held my observed birthday party at a popular Mexican food restaurant and, much to my surprise, a large group showed. I got to see some old friends that I hadn’t seen in over a decade and I got to meet some little ones, too. I was touched and reassured of what I had always suspected: I still have more friends here, in my hometown, than I ever did while I was away.

Shortly thereafter, Divine Mercy Sunday (May 1) came and went and John Paul II was beatified as a Servant of God, Blessed. The more I learn about him, the more I wish I had joined the Church sooner. I will ask for his prayers for me.

Then, Osama bin Laden was killed. And while I can understand the joy that many Americans felt, I couldn’t help but say a quick prayer, that somehow the pain that he had beset upon this planet might be forgivable to God. I did not rejoice. Of course, when the story broke, it was still Divine Mercy Sunday in the US, although, I later discovered, that he was killed shortly after midnight in Pakistan. I’m not sure how Christ measures time zones when he “established” Divine Mercy Sunday, but if it goes by Poland’s time zone, then yes, even bin Laden is forgiven. (Not to shamelessly self-promote, but here’s the article to what Divine Mercy Sunday is all about on the Washington Times Communities: http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/holy-soap-opera/2011/may/1/defending-mercy/

What a humbling thought that is! I cannot profess to claim that Christ died for all of my sins and not assume that he didn’t die for Osama’s either, despite ObL’s rejection of Christ.  Divine Mercy Sunday is the forgiveness of all who approach Christ on that day. Perhaps ObL didn’t? But who’s to know what goes on in the afterlife? I am still scratching my head and pondering the gravity of that thought. Point is, there was no rejoicing on my behalf; it’s important to live what you believe.

On to life again, work has picked up, too, and I’m starting to finally feel like I belong. Next week is my first business trip to Chicago and, my boss, in order to save money on the flight, is allowing me to stay an extra couple of nights. That gives me the opportunity to rent a car and visit my soon-to-be-one-year-old niece! I can hardly believe that it’s been a year since that little beauty popped out!

Regina caeli, laetare, alleluia! Quia quem meriusti portare, alleluia! Resurrexit, sicut dixit, alleluia! Ora pro nobis Deum, alleluia!

Gaude et laetare, Virgo Maria, alleluia! Quia surrexit Dominus vere, alleluia!

(Oremus.) Deus, qui per resurrectionem Filii tui, Domini nostri Iesu Christi, mundum laetificare dignatus es: praesta, quaesumus, ut per eius Genitricem Virginem Mariam, perpetuae capiamus gaudia vitae. Per eundem Christum Dominum nostrum. Amen.

Written by Written Straw

May 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

