All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

I’ve never been a person for hoopla

leave a comment »


I’m about a week away from moving home after an 11-year absence. It’s slowly starting to hit me and I am concentrating on how to make this departure a good thing, despite the emotions of those I leave behind.

My boss already has the farewell party planned at the office but she hasn’t yet sent out the invite officially. I’m not sure how I will handle all the congratulations I will get because I’ve never been a person for hoopla. Nevertheless, I’m grateful for all those well-wishers, even if some only come for the pastries. 

In the meantime, I’ve been documenting and training coworkers how to fill in gaps that I will leave. I’ve been packing boxes in the evening, though I feel like I’m not doing enough. All of this week and next, I’ll be saying goodbyes to personal friends and acquaintances. It’s not as if I won’t see them again, but they will feel like a million miles away soon. And experience demonstrates that distance contributes significantly to losing touch.

I drive around town, thinking to myself that this will soon be the last time I see x or do y. I wonder how hard I will cry when it really is time to leave. And somewhere, deep down, I am not sure if I will cry at all. As I often say, this town was never home to me. I will only be sad over memories with people, not over any nostalgia for the city. Except, perhaps, for the abundant and accessible blueblonnets in the spring.

Written by Written Straw

March 23, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

