All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

‘Lost time is never found again.’

leave a comment »


I got in touch with a long-lost friend several weeks ago and today was the first time I was able to chat with him, thanks to social media.

M— and I were great friends while I was in college but we lost touch promptly after my graduation. I was moving to Austin and he was moving to Detroit. Because of the nature of our friendship, I never paid much attention to know his last name, especially due to his nationality. We just had one of those types of friendship that never involved phone calls; rather it was a stop-by-anytime-and-hang-out friendship. I’d been trying for several years to find him from what I could remember of his last name, which was basically the first and last letters only.

Somehow, miraculously, I did discover it. I found an old address for him in Detroit, but it was fruitless. I systematically checked on social media sites, about once every six months or so, but it seemed impossible. The thought occurred to me that he had returned home and probably didn’t keep in touch by the typical American means. But just a few weeks ago, I searched and there he was!

Today, we chatted about how long it had been since we’d seen each other. I brought him up to speed on all of our mutual friends’ lives. I told him about my life.  Funny how I could summarize 11 years of life in just a few brief minutes.

I learned he did return to his homeland, is married with a young son, and has a successful career. I couldn’t be happier! I was also able to apologize for the sudden departure I made when I moved away. I felt terrible for not properly saying goodbye. Just the fact that I am touch with him again somehow makes my life seem more at peace. And since I’ll be moving to Houston over the next three weeks, even Houston seems brighter, too, by illuminated memories.

What makes me most proud is that he was looking for me, too, and can fill gaps in my own memory. Few words describe the feeling of being reunited to a great friend; I prefer “blessing”.

Written by Written Straw

March 13, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

