All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Now is the ashen day

leave a comment »


Lent officially begins today and the homily at Mass this morning was very powerful:

“Behold, now is a very acceptable time; Behold, now is the day of salvation.” (2 Corinthians 6:2)

The priest then went on to give a simple homily about Ash Wednesday, reiterating that even for just one day, this day, it is possible to go without sin. And if it can be done for today, now, then don’t worry about later.  “Tomorrow is the devil’s best tool,” he quipped. “‘Tomorrow, I will pray, tomorrow I will be sinless.  Tomorrow I will confess.'”

But God is ex-temporal. Time does not exist for God; the past, present and future are all “now” for him.

I was re-reading older posts I had from last Easter. I hope I can remain as fervent this year as I was last year. I still pray for the same people and new ones, too. I pray for the conversion of those who have hardened hearts toward God. I hope my life, especially during Lent, might serve as an example of the great things that become when bitterness is left behind, through silent and hidden fasting, prayer and almsgiving.

A brief reflection on Ash Wednesday:

We once laid down palm leaves for the arrival of our king and at a quick test of our faith, we denied him. So then we burned the very leaves of his welcome in order to forsake him. Now we are reminded of our choices by wearing the ashes of those leaves on our heads, like a scarlet letter.

I have to always desire the truth in order for it to be revealed.

Written by Written Straw

March 9, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Posted in Catholic, Faith

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

