All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Growing up

leave a comment »


Change is difficult enough as it is but waiting is harder.  Once again, I have to put all my trust in the belief that God knows what’s going on and right now I need to just sit tight and let him do his work.

A lot of change is soon to be coming my way.  I am relocating to Houston in four weeks if all goes according to plan. I’m bursting with excitement inside but my heart is heavy for those I leave behind in Austin. It’s a new adventure in my life and a bold one at that. God is so awesomely good.

It’s hard, I admit, to always remember that God’s will for me is first and foremost. No matter how long I hold my breath to have things done quickly, change takes time. It is silly for me to believe otherwise.

While the waiting is hard, of course, I can’t help but also feel like life is going very quickly, too. I’m at this point in my life where I have to make a choice to grow up in both body and soul. I have to make a lot of decisions. Again, trusting in God is so much harder to do than to say.

I spent some time in Church last week, praying about feeling contrite. I was almost tempted to go to confession, but I couldn’t get in the right frame of mind. I didn’t go, especially after I found out that only one priest would be present and there was a long line. I will go before Easter, probably at a penance service.

I will be in Houston, though, before Easter. I am sad that I won’t get to celebrate Easter one last time with my parish family. That will be hard, too, but I have to remember that I’m gaining new friends, new family. That’s what happens when you grow up.

Written by Written Straw

March 7, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

