All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Getting rid of forever

with 4 comments


I’ve thought long and hard about what to do with one aspect still leftover from my former marriage: the wedding ring.

I recently had the ring unbound, cleaned and appraised and I was intending to sell it. But the more I thought about it, the more it seemed inappropriate to profit from it.  I wasn’t given the ring as an investment: it was a gift.  But how to get rid of it?  Diamonds are forever, right?

A wedding ring is a sacred object, I believe. It wasn’t as if it had been fashioned for any reason other than to symbolize the vocation of marriage. Thus, I can’t wear it just as jewelry with a fancy outfit.  A wedding ring has a special purpose to it.  It doesn’t have to be expensive, but most people can tell the difference between a wedding band and just a plain pretty ring.

So I had the idea of giving it away for free to some deserving couple.  But first, I emailed my deacon to ask if it would be appropriate to do so, especially since the ring had once been blessed.  He thought it was entirely appropriate and welcomed the idea.

My ring isn’t extremely extravagant or anything, but it is very beautiful as it is.  After hearing from the deacon, I spent a few days preparing myself for what I was going to do, which is essentially to give away a very expensive piece of my life.

I finally posted it today rather spontaneously on Craigslist.  I said I would give it away for free to a deserving couple if they could provide a good (romantic) reason why they should have it.  I hit the button to post it and I said a brief prayer in my mind.  When I checked my email a few minutes later, though, it was flagged for removal.  Apparently, someone thought it was a scam.

So I reposted it.  This time, I had a flood of emails for it (about 40 or so) until someone flagged it again.  I made a point to reply to each email to let them know that I was dead serious about giving it away and that I would make a decision about who would receive it by Friday afternoon.

The stories are so very touching.  Many are similar.  Some are married couples who never had the money to buy a ring because of pregnancy.  One lady lost hers.  Another girl would like to secure it for her parents, who never had one. 

Still, a US marine took the time to write for it with a very inspiring story.  Another man would like to present it to his best friend of several years.  Finally, a young man would like to surprise his girlfriend on Valentine’s day by having it baked into a dessert.

I will spend the next few days debating these causes and praying about it.

My hope is that it finds a finger on a hand that will be loved and held for a long while.

Written by Written Straw

January 31, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE this idea! You are such a thoughtful and caring person, and the world could benefit from more like you.

    Ian

    February 1, 2011 at 6:26 am

  2. That is such a spectacular solution. Wish I’d have thought of it. I buried mine in the Atlantic, 40 miles off of Myrtle Beach 70 feet down on a scuba dive.

    omawarisan

    February 2, 2011 at 5:43 am

    • Hopefully it was on a dive that Mrs. Omawarisan accompanied you on?

      Written Straw

      February 2, 2011 at 8:30 am

      • wow! such a brilliant, brave and bold option. maybe even fun, and a self booster… both making you feel good about yourself and your dilemma. choose wisely the deserving. a ring means only what you imbue, and I congratulate you for giving your ring new meaning in its “recycling”.

        Sean Stubblefield

        February 3, 2011 at 9:55 pm


Leave a Reply

