All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Finishing the race

with one comment


2011 is almost here and every major social and news website has some article about the “year in review.” But why look in the rear view mirror? I’ve got a nice, clean windshield right in front of me.

But just in case, here’s my review:

Last Christmas, I was spending a glorious time at my sister’s place deep in the Wisconsin snow.  My niece wasn’t yet born, so it was kind of like a last chance to just be sisters and not worry about diapers, formula being at the right temperature, and baby toys littering the living room floor.

By February, the divorce was finalized.

By Easter, I had lost 25 more pounds (due to an awesome and productive Lent).

Later in April, I celebrated my 32nd birthday in Houston fabulously with very special friends and made a firm decision that I would move back in 2011. I wrapped up my first year of Adult ESL teaching as a volunteer.  I joined a new effort to patch a hole in my life (missing children) by volunteering with a local youth group as an adult mentor.

In May, my precious niece was born and I learned all about the first week of parenthood by being there.

My July, I started dating someone more seriously, though with much hesitation about diving into a relationship after divorce. But he was great and patient and we laid a good foundation. And we’re figuring it out despite living (temporarily) in different cities.

By August, my dog developed a progressively horrible urinary tract infection that is still ongoing and racking up the bills ($3,000 and counting).

I spent Halloween as a nun hanging out with a devil.  Also in October, I started blogging about the lighter side of Catholicism on the Washington Time Communities as the Holy Soap Opera.  In November, I spent a glorious Thanksgiving giving thanks and sharing the love with food and friends in Houston, only to lose my best friend and pet cat, Calvin, a week later to old age. 

By Christmas, I spoiled a child and a half and sang tons of carols. What better way to end the year than by being in my favorite city with my favorite people?  The only thing that could have made this year better was a playoff trip for the Texans. We just had some tough losses!

Slowly, Austin is losing its connection for me, though. The more time I’m home in Houston, the less attached I feel to Austin. I’m losing touch, even perhaps at the expense of friends there.

What’s Coming

Spending much time in thought and prayer at Church over these holidays had made me reflect on changing some habits.  Here are some of my resolutions for 2011, for better or for worse, original or not:

  • Adhere more strictly to my diet plan
  • Start a trend of fasting every First Friday
  • Spend an hour of Eucharistic Adoration on First Fridays
  • Commit to at least five (different) novenae throughout the year
  • Pass my Adult ESL students onto the next level
  • Pay off a credit card
  • Move home to Houston (including a new job)
  • Return to graduate school for theology
  • Resolve the mystery of my dog’s UTI
  • See my sister and niece and possibly brother(s)
  • Meet at least three new people
  • Improve someone else’s lot in life, even if just a little
  • When I move, find a ministry to be involved with and/or a volunteer project
  • Finish three books, of my own choosing
  • Cheer on my playoff, Super Bowl-bound Texans in 2011-12

I know it’s a lot (I have more in my head), but I have always been one to start with more.  I never am disappointed by trying.

Here’s some of my inspiration

1 Corinthians 9: 19-27

For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a slave to all, so that I may win more.

To the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law though not being myself under the Law, so that I might win those who are under the Law; to those who are without law, as without law, though not being without the law of God but under the law of Christ, so that I might win those who are without law. To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become all things to all men, so that I may by all means save some.

I do all things for the sake of the gospel, so that I may become a fellow partaker of it.

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.

Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified.

2 Timothy 4:7

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith.”

Written by Written Straw

December 28, 2010 at 1:08 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » So a year and two days ago, I posted my New Year’s resolutions and focused on “finishing the race.” Here’s my […]


Leave a Reply

