All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

The Second Thanksgiving

leave a comment »


One year ago, I was scrambling to find my footing on a new, single life.  Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday, was tough but good friends stepped up and took me in for the holiday.  A year later, I have no problem with Thanksgiving plans.  I didn’t even hesitate at the thought.

This year, I have a lot of friends with whom I will be celebrating Thanksgiving and in my hometown, too. I’ve been so busy the last week and a half with buying food and preparing side dishes for 10+ people.  I’ve received multiple invites to celebrate the day with others, too.

This is a great sign to me of how quickly I am capable of healing. This second Thanksgiving is so wonderful because it’s being done on my terms with God’s blessing. I cannot adequately express the emotion regarding the blessings I have. God is great.  I will spend time in Adoration.

“If I could have suffered more for you, I would have.” – Jesus, Revelations of Divine Love, Julian of Norwich.

Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

Written by Written Straw

November 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

