All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Recapping Mr. Ray and Thanks

leave a comment »


Couple of things to reflect on my Friday night:

Last night, my heart was burning (figuratively).  I was sad.  I was alone.  But I had a ticket to attend a lecture by Steve Ray on the topic of Mary (Mary, Real Girl and Woman of Mystery). It was extremely good.  Steve Ray is a converted Catholic (being an Evangelical Protestant for 33 years).  He’s now an apologist for Catholicism.  So it was particularly enlightening to hear his lecture on Mary.  He already knows the arguments against Mary by which Protestant faithful are so critical of Catholics since he was once one to persecute Catholics.  Quick notes:

  • Where in the bible does it say everything must be in the bible?  When Jesus ascended to heaven, he didn’t leave a book–he left men (to feed his sheep).  Paul regularly refers to the observance of traditions and what “I have written“.  (Paul had no idea his words would be compiled into a “New Testament” for a good 400 years or so.  Yet, Christians believed for those years–without a bible.
  • The gospels of Luke and John make all sorts of allusions to Mary and her role as the new Ark of the Covenant, including the Book of Revelations (11:19-12:3):
    • And the temple of God which is in heaven was opened; and the ark of His covenant appeared in His temple, and there were flashes of lightning and sounds and peals of thunder and an earthquake and a great hailstorm. [12]  A great sign appeared in heaven: a woman clothed with the sun, and the moon under her feet, and on her head a crown of twelve stars; and she was with child; and she cried out, being in labor and in pain to give birth. Then another sign appeared in heaven: and behold, a great red dragon having seven heads and ten horns, and on his heads were seven diadems.
  • The first Ark of the Covenant held the manna and the Word of God written upon stone (ten commandments); Mary, the new Ark, held within her the Bread of Life and the Word of God written in flesh.
  • When Mary gave birth to Jesus, she laid Him in a manger–a feeding bin–a symbol of His role as the Bread of Life.
  • It is no irony that at the first creation, Adam, Eve and Satan were present in a Garden and ate from a tree of death.  In the new creation, the new Adam (Jesus), Eve (Mary) and Satan are again present in a garden (Gethsemane), where the new Adam would be nailed to a tree of life (the Cross).
  • Protestants that believe there need not be a mediatrix between you and Christ should consider their hypocrisy when they ask others to “pray for me”.
  • Protestants who protest statues should understand the irony that they have manger scenes up at Christmas (in which Mary is there.)
  • For those critical of the crucifix because “Christ is no longer on the cross, He is risen!”:  He is no longer in the manger, either.
  • Allusions:  Psalm 132. 2 Samuel 6, Book of Kings (in which Solomon sets a throne for the queen, his mother, at his right side.)  Jewish practice:  queens were mothers, not wives.

I have paraphrased a few of the highlights, some of which I was very aware of, others which were confirmation.  I can’t give it all away, though, else I’d be plagiarizing.

Although  I enjoyed the lecture incredibly, I was extremely sad still.  My heart was still hurting.  So I went back to the Adoration Chapel at my church.  I knelt and wept.  Asked God for mercy and perseverance.  And then I left.  Came home and almost collapsed into sleep.

This morning—felt so much better, but still a little concerned. I’ve been reaching out to friends to socialize and keep me busy.  But until tomorrow, I had no plans.  Being home alone on Friday nights is very depressing at times.  But a few hours into my day and I get a quick invite from an acquaintance (not even someone I regularly hang out with) inviting me to a board game night with a lot of company.  (Thanks, God.  I’m sorry I was worried.  I should have known better.  You always come through.)

Written by Written Straw

June 25, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

