All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

The Hardest Worker

with one comment


I love my sister.  She’s recently had her first child and I am completely at a loss to help her.  We’ve always leaned on each other for difficult times (not that I’m calling having a newborn a difficult time.)  I’ve been calling her much more frequently, just to check in on her.  Today, my niece was particularly irritable and I realized that this is definitely something I can’t help her with.   Book smarts are useless in child rearing.

My sister doesn’t really have any signs of post partum depression or anything, but because the baby had been crying all day, nearly nonstop, her nerves were a little worn.  She is worried about her job.  She desires to stay home with the child to raise it, but she has too much debt.  I can hear the worry in her voice.    She said, “I have no one to blame but myself for my debt.”  I wanted to give her a big hug, because the debt she’s referring to isn’t credit debt.  It’s student loans.

My sister is the hardest working woman I’ve ever known.  She hasn’t finished her schooling.  She had to take remedial-level classes in community college in order to proceed.  Then, she hesitated as to what she wanted to be.  Finally, after a decade of college courses (one or two a semester), she’s got a couple of years left in her nursing program.  She has never given up.  She was expressing her frustration of feeling like she’s accrued so much debt and has nothing yet to show for it.  I reminded her that it will be well worth it.  I had similar feelings towards the end of my studies.

More importantly, my sister has never given up hope.  She has been in much graver binds in her life thus far and she’s worked and fought her way out.  She hasn’t been given many breaks.  But she has a kind heart and she has a great outlook on life and with people.  I honestly can’t say if I have as much strength as she has, given the trials she’s had in her life.  This I reminded her of.  Having a child isn’t a “trial”, it is a blessing.

I felt bad, though.  Being a person who likes to have some control, I find it hard to comfort her since I know absolutely nothing about how to raise a child.  I am a little relieved because I feel that should I ever be blessed with the opportunity to raise my own child, she will be there offering me advice.  She will know what to say to me–what I can’t say to her now.

Thank goodness for big sisters.

Written by Written Straw

June 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Faith, Life

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have to believe that good things come to folks who work so hard to pull themselves toward what they want. Someone like that will figure out the child thing because she knows how important it is.

    omawarisan

    June 22, 2010 at 9:09 am


Leave a Reply

