All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

What I’m Learning This Week

leave a comment »


It’s been a rather tough week. . .tougher than I’ve had in a while.

My friend, by the way, did accept my apology.  I had to swallow my pride (as I needed to) and ask him if that was the case.  I feel much relief from knowing that, though I know things will be rocky in our friendship for a bit.

I’ve started a novena using the Chaplet of the Virtues of the Holy Spirit.  I need a lot of all seven virtues.  (I haven’t had time yet to spend in silent adoration of the Blessed Sacrament.  I forget about it when I’m on my way home from work since I don’t drive by the church anymore.  I need to send myself a note.)

In honor of the virtues of the Holy Spirit, I have been reflecting on what I’ve learned this last week, since it has been particularly intense:

  1. My faith has sustained me.  My faith is all that I am and all that I ever can hope to remain.  Without faith, I am meaningless.  God is merciful to those who trust in Him.  It matters not how much one sins, it only matters how much faith and trust one has in Him and His mercy.
  2. I cannot lose hope. Ever.  Much like faith, it is what wakes me up in the mornings.  It is fuel for my faith.
  3. Love, real love, is not found on the surface.
  4. I have felt humility this week in a profound way.  It’s never pleasant for my flesh, but my soul resurfaces when I am full of it.
  5. My misdeeds occurred because of my lack of patience. All good things come to those who wait and to those who trust in Him.  I know I must work continually on the trust I place in God.  I must pray for patience.  I will be taken care of, He has never failed me.  He loves me and I am His.
  6. No matter what shortcomings I may have, I must have perseverance to do what is just.  Whether it is in the dealings of the business concerning my father’s burial or in my willingness to apologize and set right what I have wronged.
  7. Lastly, I am recognizing evermore that obedience pays off when I am obedient to His will and not my own.

The longer I pray for these virtues, the stronger I become in recognizing them in my life.   I am recognizing my resilience and strength to overcome obstacles and façades (drama).   I’m learning that simplicity, straight-forwardness, and honesty are so much less of a hassle than the alternative, particularly when exercised with tact.

Keep me in your prayers and thoughts that I might hold on to these lessons.

Written by Written Straw

June 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

