All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Learning by Observation

with one comment


I’ve been staying with my sister for four days now and I must say it’s quite the psychological experiment to watch her and her husband go through their first full week as new parents.  They are so excited about being new parents, they are still patient through all of the crying and more importantly with each other.  I hope that if I should ever be blessed to have a child of my own, I have a man half as bold as her husband.  He’s so patient with both the baby and my sister, I just smile that my sister married a wonderful man.  He’s really been taking care of both her and the child, making sure she’s recovering and is making time for sleep. 

As a group, we haven’t done anything except hang around the house.  My sister is still recovering to really go anywhere and she’s too nervous about how to handle the child when she’s out in public.  I feel a little bit in the way as they get themselves organized and into a routine, but I have been handling all the exterior details.  I have been numerous times to the grocery store, buying them the things that they are discovering that they need and cleaning their house.  At least until they get into a decent routine.  I just take care of what I can and quietly wait in the background as they figure things out for themselves.

Today, my sister, who has been so gracious thus far, finally broke down for a few minutes from lack of sleep.  It was heart-breaking to watch her cry over a glass that she tipped over accidently.  Her husband and I urged her to go take a nap.  I can only empathize with how it feels.  She was, fortunately, back to her chipper self three hours later.  I also held onto the child more than any other day.  My heart is hers.  She is the cutest baby I have ever laid my eyes upon so far in my life.

Tonight, though, my niece is crying her eyes out.  I haven’t heard her cry this much since I’ve been here, but I don’t mind.  I know they will figure out what she needs soon enough.  After all, billions upon billions of women have done this.  Billions of us have lived as evidence of success.

Written by Written Straw

June 4, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like an amazing family you have there. I’m happy for all of you, and also…I remember that scared new parent feeling…it’s horrifying and fantastic all at once.

    Ian

    July 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm


Leave a Reply

