All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Lay It at the Foot of the Cross

leave a comment »


Over the last few weeks, I’ve been noting how weak I feel in my faith. I was driving around today, running last-minute errands before I leave to visit family tomorrow, and I turned on my local Catholic radio station and there was this man relating a story about the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. He was recalling a woman who told him that she was very angry with God because her child was diagnosed with juvenile diabetes. He told her to take her anger to the foot of the cross. . .

I heed those words well. I’ve had a very solemn day since it is Memorial Day. Somehow, though, it isn’t just soldiers that I seem to be remembering. I really miss my father today. I really miss having someone to give me parental advice about what I should do with my life. I feel like I am missing a pep talk for how to get myself together and create a strategy for moving forward. I will see my sister tomorrow and I’m sure she’ll offer me what I need to hear.

I think about it still. Taking all my loneliness, sufferings, and sense of injustices and just laying it all down, right there, between Mary and John. It would be such a grain of sand—maybe half a grain—compared to what was already going on. Some speculate that a single drop of blood from Christ would have been all that it took to atone for the sins of the world. . . and yet, Christ went the whole nine yards as the sacrificial lamb. How is it that Mary didn’t die from grief? I remain in absolute awe when I think of her, there, watching her son die. The incredible amount of faith she must have had! Somehow, she managed to move forward. I wonder if she ever was angry at God. At the temple, she was forewarned by Simeon, “and you yourself a sword will pierce. . .” Indeed, blessed are those who hear the word of God and observe it, who do not see and yet believe.

I get this indescribable comfort and peace from leaving my worries there. I only wish I would remember to keep them there.

Written by Written Straw

May 31, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Posted in Faith, Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

