All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

If Your Right Eye Offends

leave a comment »


 If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one of your members than to have your whole body thrown into Gehenna.

And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one of
your members than to have your whole body go into Gehenna.  (Matt. 5:29-30)

This is the verse that my priest reminded me of during my last face-to-face confession.  And it has resonated within my head for so long.  Tonight, I took the advice and made a sacrifice, willingly.  I’m very saddened that I can’t have my cake and eat it, too.  But I will lose SO much weight because of it!

I’m also sad because all of this packing and preparation for my move is making me anxious and stirring up emotions.  When I decided to move away to another city when I finished college, it was a decision made very spontaneously.  I had no real reason for moving to Austin.  But my dad supported me.  And when the day came to move to my new “home”, my dad helped me move.

And once I got my furniture in, he stood at the door ready to go back to Houston without me and had tears in his eyes.  I gave him a hug (a rarity, unfortunately, for those who know me).  He was so sad to say goodbye.  It was time for him to face his empty nest.

My heart aches so much right now.  And what I wouldn’t give for someone to hug me like my dad did that day, knowing I’ll be missed once again but that everything’s going to be alright.  I know it’s just moving from my house, but it was mine.

Thy will be done.

Written by Written Straw

April 19, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Faith, Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

