All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Nightfall

leave a comment »


The last fews days have left me a period of darkness.  A lot of change is going on in my life this month and while I’m very excited for new beginnings, I’m also feeling a little lonely there isn’t anyone to share things with.  In the midst of my downtime, I started to feel a bit depressed (particularly amplified since I was feeling ill this week), but of all places to get a good laugh, my ex-husband cheered me up.  He, of course, didn’t know that he did and that’s what makes it more meaningful to me.

I’ve gained so much independence in the last few months.  When I was younger, I welcomed the independence.  Now, I’m not so sure what to do with it, probably because I hadn’t planned on it.  I have this animosity about how to fill the gaps.

I suppose I haven’t really been very focused over the last few weeks.  I needed some admonishment, which has come from three or four very faithful friends.  I thank them wholeheartedly.   I hear them, but my flesh doesn’t seem to want to do what my spirit wills.  Fortunately, after a good chat with a dear friend last night, I think I know what I need to do to get back on track.  It won’t be easy and involves sacrifice, but if there’s success to be found in the end, then the sacrifice will have been worth it.

On a sadder note, a friend revealed to me that her daughter is considering divorce.  It’s a very unfair situation for the girl and though they love each other, there are other sinister factors involved that are wearing down her ability to work things out.  I am keeping her my prayers.  I pray that the grace that was given me through my divorce might be given to her should that be the direction she takes, or mercy should she stay.

Written by Written Straw

April 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Leave a Reply

