All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Don’t They Fly By in the Blink of an Eye?

with one comment


It’s the eve of my birthday and I couldn’t be more grateful.  Tomorrow morning, I will spend a few hours volunteering at the local food bank, having lunch with a friend, taking care of some errands, and then spending my evening studying scripture.  I will fit some adoration in there, too.  Sounds like a perfect day to me!

But as each year rolls by, I always hold in the back of my mind my mother, who died at the tender young age of 39.  The shortness of her life makes me appreciate mine so much more.  I can’t say that it doesn’t concern me–and I have no logical reason why it should–but reaching 40, for me, will be a milestone.  So for eight more years, I will do what I can to make sure I make it there!

I take a moment, though, to thank God for the lessons I’ve learned and the lessons I am going to learn.  I know I don’t have much of a family left, but I have the best sister, a couple of brothers (despite their ill communication habits) and a handful of good friends who love me enough to care that it is, well, in fact my birthday.  I have my health and I have my faith.  What more could I need in this life?

Written by Written Straw

April 7, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Birthday my friend!

    Jill Rutherford

    April 8, 2010 at 9:00 pm


Leave a Reply

