All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

In the Darkness

leave a comment »


What a week of such repentence and such beauty!  Tonight, I attended a Tenebrae service at my church.  This was the second time I’ve been to one and every time, I find myself clinging to that last light and then weeping silently when it is extinguished.  And, of course, stunned when the drum rolls, signifying the death of Christ and the break in the temple.

At the end of a Tenebrae service

I am particularly focused again on the very prophetic Psalm 22: “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?”  It is such a pity that many people misinterpret Christ’s words on the cross because this is an excellent Psalm.

As I sat in the darkness, meditating, I prayed, “Please do not stay away from me.  Please let me be in Your presence always.”  [“Do not stay far from me, for trouble is near, and there is no one to help.” Ps. 22: 12]

And of course, from the hymn: “The crown He wore and the cross He bore were His own.”

PS.  Got some advice to reflect on from my priest regarding my sin.

Written by Written Straw

March 31, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

