All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

First Draft

with one comment


The first draft is finished.  I am not going to submit it until I re-read it, hopefully over the course of the next week.  It will be submitted before Good Friday.

I don’t feel like a burden has been lifted.  I don’t feel like celebrating.  I don’t feel sad and I don’t feel accomplished.  I have no feeling at the moment and I feel like I should.

But when they continued asking him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let the one among you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.”  Again he bent down and wrote on the ground.

And in response, they went away one by one, beginning with the elders. So he was left alone with the woman before him.
 
Then Jesus straightened up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”
 
She replied, “No one, sir.”  Then Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go, (and) from now on do not sin any more.”
 
–John 8:4-11

I think that God chooses not remember sin once we are contrite about it.  It really is masochistic that we don’t forgive ourselves.

Written by Written Straw

March 21, 2010 at 8:39 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen!

    Jill Rutherford

    March 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

