All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

I Just Didn’t Know at the Time

leave a comment »


One of my favorite quotes about marriage comes from the story/movie Shall We Dance? in which the main character’s wife, Beverly Clark, is dismissing her hired private investigator, satisfied that her husband isn’t cheating:

We need a witness to our lives. There’s a billion people on the planet… I mean, what does any one life really mean? But in a marriage, you’re promising to care about everything. The good things, the bad things, the terrible things, the mundane things… all of it, all of the time, every day. You’re saying ‘Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it. Your life will not go un-witnessed because I will be your witness’.

This is what I missed out on.  I was reflecting on my satisfaction about my expectations of marriage and this quote keeps coming up in my head.  I was perfectly happy in the mundaneness of life, when I recalled how bored my ex was.  It was such a fear of his that he would lead a life in which the days seems to repeat over and over again.  I never understood why.  I can appreciate the risk-taking life.  But there are ways to spice up life, I just didn’t know them at the time.

  And then a particular line from the song What Sarah Said (Death Cab for Cutie) pops into my head: “‘Love is watching someone die’. . . So who’s going to watch you die?”

Written by Written Straw

March 16, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

