All That I Have Written Is Straw. . .

Meanderings of a Catholic Devout

Reflecting on Mercy

with one comment


Mercy is more and more a theme in this blog, I find.  I cannot describe how mercy feels, but as I reference often: it just feels like everything’s going to be OK.

My scripture study leader once was sharing a commentary with us about mercy and justice.  I can’t remember where the commentary came from or who wrote it, but it helps me a lot when I ponder the crucifix:

God is infinitely merciful and He is infinitely just.  The cross is where His mercy and justness meet:  someone had to pay the price (for sin) because He is just.  But because He is merciful, He paid that price Himself. 

Much like a parent who opts to die so that their child may live.

Written by Written Straw

February 23, 2010 at 7:16 am

Posted in Catholic, Faith

Tagged with , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darling Erica, thank you for sharing your heart. This is one of the ways in which I know God is real. That people from completely different church experiences know the same God. He is merciful and loving. And everything is going to be ok.

    He loves you my dear. You don’t need to deny yourself that love or His presence. Forgiveness is immediate.

    Jill

    Jill Rutherford

    March 3, 2010 at 9:34 pm


Leave a Reply

